Driver Safety Course option will not be granted after the appearance date.
You are eligible for a DRIVER'S SAFETY COURSE if:
You have current liability insurance and are listed on the policy as a driver.
You have a valid Texas Driver's License.
You are at least 17 years of age.
You do not have a CDL currently or at the time of the offense.
You are not charged with speeding 25 mph (or more) over the limit, 14 mph (or more) over the limit in a school zone, or speeding in a construction zone with workers present.
You have not taken a Driver Safety Course with in the last 12 months.
The following items must be submitted to the court on or before the appearance date shown on the citation to be eligible to take the course: (DO NOT TAKE THE COURSE BEFORE SUBMITTING THIS REQUEST)
Copy of your Texas Driver's Licenseand current proof of insurance listing you as a covered driver.
Court costs of $144.00 by money order, cashier's check or with a credit card by phone at (817)790-3223.
Must be 25 years of age or older. Requires: Fine plus a $50 deferral fee with a copy of a Texas drivers license and insurance in your name.(Moving violations only) Call or visit the City of Alvarado website for fine amount.
If no citations are received for 90 days in Johnson County, Texas your citation will not be reported on your driving record
Commercial Drivers License Holders" Are Not Eligible for Above Options